FUTURE / PAST: Photolucida Critical Mass Top 50 Exhibition - The Center for Photographic Art


Photolucida' Critical Mass Top 50 Group Exhibition

Curated by Elizabeth Avedon

August 7 – September 12, 2021

The Center for Photographic Art, Carmel, CA

"At long last, we get to celebrate the artists and exhibit the images from Photolucida’s 2019 Critical Mass Top 50 with "Future I Past", curated by Elizabeth Avedon (postponed due to Covid). Our distinguished curator selected one image from each portfolio that represents and interweaves divergent styles from all across the world. Thanks for your patience everyone!" – Ann M. Jastrab, CPA Executive Director

Featuring works by: Rhiannon Adam, Sara Bennett, David Bloomer, Carl Bower, Tracy L. Chandler, Troy Colby, Rachel Cox, Monica Denevan, Rory Doyle, Kristen Emack, Amy Friend, Rich Frishman, Jennifer Garza-Cuen, Dominika Gesicka, Joshua Dudley Greer, William Harris, Sarah Hobbs, Glenda Jennings,  Jamie Johnson, Priya Suresh Kambli, Tom Keifer, Mark Lyon, Noelle Mason, Kristen Matuszak, Jennifer McClure, Ingvild Melby, Robin Michaels, Rebecca Biddle Moseman, Karen Navarro, Nancy Newberry, Mikael Owunna, Catherine Panebianco, Rachel Papo, Barbara Peacock, Bruce Polin, Kaja Rata, Astrid Reischwitz, Paula Riff, Michelle Rogers Pritzl, Aline Smithson, Caleb Stein, Barbara Strigel, Krista Svalbonas, JP Terlizzi, Bryan Thomas, Annie Tritt, Barry Underwood, Ian Van Coller, Ira Wagner, Becky Wilkes.

 The Center for Photographic Art, Carmel, CA

Featured Photograph © Jennifer McClure 2021. Many thanks to CPA's Ann Jastrab, and Photolucida's Laura Moya and Audra Osborne Norberg

ENTER LUCIE PHOTO-BOOK PRIZE: New Extended Deadline August 31, 2021

2021 Lucie Photo Book Prize

The Lucie Photo Book Prize aims to support photographers in producing and promoting their photo-books through monetary prizes and exposure opportunities. The contest is divided into two separate awards - the Traditional Prize (worth US$3,000) and the Independent Prize (worth US$2,000). The Traditional Prize will be awarded to a photographer, editor, curator, or publisher whose book is commercially produced and distributed, while the Independent Prize will be granted to a photographer, editor, curator, or publisher whose book is published and distributed independently.

The 10-person jury this year consists of many acclaimed industry professionals working in a wide range of fields, from editors and publishers to creative directors. They are Bekie Ntini (Interim Head: Market Photo Workshop), Raina Lampkins-Fielder (Curator at Souls Grown Deep Foundation), Sarah Allen (Curator, Tate Modern), Elizabeth Avedon (Independent Curator, Photography Book and Exhibition Designer), Tracey Woods (Director of Photography, The Luupe), Mariama Attah (Curator, Open Eye Gallery), Emmeline Yong (Co-founder and Director of Objectifs), Chantal Pontbriand (Contemporary art curator, critic, and art consultant), Edie Peters (Manager PhotoQ Bookshop at World Press Photo), and our own Founder and Director Giuseppe Oliverio

 The top finalists will have their work displayed in New York City at a date to be set in 2022 as part of the Lucie Foundation’s annual programming. Entry fees vary from US$35 to US$55 depending on the award. An application form and a PDF file of the book must be submitted by 15 July. 


Thrilled to be a Juror for The 2021 Lucie PhotoBook Prize!